Posted by: L | April 10, 2006

A Photojournalist Remembered

Gordon Parks
1912 – 2006
"Those people who want to use a camera should have something in mind, there’s something they want to show, something they want to say…," Park’s explains. "I picked up a camera because it was my choice of weapons against what I hated most about the universe: racism, intolerance, poverty. I could have just as easily picked up a knife or gun, like many of my childhood friends did… most of whom were murdered or put in prison… but I chose not to go that way. I felt that I could somehow subdue these evils by doing something beautiful that people recognize me by, and thus make a whole different life for myself, which has proved to be so."

Gordon Parks: A Picture Editor’s Personal Remembrance

April 2006
by Barbara Baker Burrows

He sits at his piano, fingers moving
effortlessly over its keys, and as smoke curls from his pipe, there is
a sense of tranquility, as if nothing else exists in the softness of
the night. It’s very late, and the floodlights that illuminate the
protected ruins of an abandoned hospital across the East River cast
their glow through the long living room windows. Atop the piano and
along stretches of windowsill, neatly placed side by side in their
frames, are the cherished faces of loved ones who have graced his life.
It’s easy to get lost in reverie while his peaceful music filters
through the air.

More>>

Leave a Reply

Categories

