Posted by: L | August 28, 2006

Getting Settled and Sorted

I
finally have a moment to write an entry. To say that it has been a ‘zoo’ the
past week would be putting it lightly! As many of you know, I arrived
Sunday evening after a lovely drive up the California PCH (Hwy 1) and through the
Redwood Forests at the CA/OR border to well a bit of a challenge.

Said
challenge? When one runs a business from the road internet access is a must.
To be perfectly blunt, I was under the impression that the Loft I was
renting for the next month was being used as an office. It’s not. That equals
no internet access at all.

On the positive side, it’s great to be home. I have had no qualms or second guessing of myself that I made the right decision to move back to Portland.
The reception from friends and family has been great! Thank you.

Knitting
News. I’ve actually managed to get quite a bit accomplished the first week
back.

  • Some progress on Rick’s sweater. I’m starting on the sleeves this week. They packed the front. My Type A personality means that I have to compare the armhole shaping before I start on the V-neck.
  • I managed to hit a Tuesday night knitting open group in the NW area of Portland last week. It was just what the doctor ordered. 
  • The big news: I have a job teaching beginning knitting on Saturday’s 10:30 – 12:30 and a Knit a First Sweater Class at Knit Purl. One starts mid September the other mid-October. I’m really looking forward to getting involved in the local knitting community again.
  • I finally found Sydney’s yarn for her Christmas sweater at the Yarn Garden on SW Hawthorne. I’m now just waiting for Jacob’s to arrive via mail.

Hpim1282

Sydney’s

Other news? I have found an apartment for the next six-months while I look to buy. It’s on King Hill. PHEW!!! The downside is the move in date is October 1, which actually means October 14. I’ll be in San Jose from the Sept. 25- Oct. 3 for work and the Tri Girl Tri on September 30th. Then onward to New Orleans 3-6 October for the New Orleans Rebuild Together Project. I’ll have pictures and blog updates for all. Count on it!

With that, I leave you with some photos of the trip.

Hpim1137

Leaving SF

Hpim1143

CA Coast

Hpim1149

PCH Traffic Jam – downed power lines

Hpim1173

Glass Beach, Ft. Bragg, CA

Hpim1206

Redwood Forest

Hpim1211

From the ground up

Leave a Reply

Categories

