Posted by: L | February 4, 2007

Knit One, Haiku Too

Knit One, Haiku Too. I’ve shamelessly used the book title for my title post. For every knitter a must read! Myrna A.I. Stahman, dba Rocking Chair Press introduced this little treasure to me on the ferry ride back from the Visionary Retreat. 

It’s been a week since I’ve been home and I will say that it
has been one of THE most stressful weeks of my move from San
Francisco to Portland.
For me to cop to that means a lot. It has also reinforced my desire and dream to
really get moving on this knitting and publishing thing.

On the knitting news front I have five great lady’s in my My First Sweater Class at Knit Purl and closing in on 1 of 2 hats for the cable hat class. I’m going to have to rethink the hat class though as the title and the conceived actual class are definitely not one in the same. It’s being touted as a Design Your Own Cable Hat vs. a  class on learning cables via a hat.

I’m just about finished with the 1st of the 2 hats. One a simple hat with three cables that can easily be done with six cables (my preference) moving up the hat. The second one? I have no idea, but I’m sure my stitch dictionary library will inspire me with something!

Hpim0126_1

Beginning

Hpim0138
Almost to the decrease

Other knitting? Not a lot really. I’ve been spending all my other spare time working on a pattern for a sweater as well as an idea for a 6-week class and / or weekend workshop for advanced knitters on how to design from scratch or redesign a sweater by teaching basic pattern drafting techniques. I’m also seaming three sweaters. I’m really not a fan of seaming, but they  have to get done. Last but not least, I’m working on a Croqui for an advertisement for a local knitting shop. Should be fun! Need to get that done!

Hpim0145
Draft Inspiration

Home front? I have 30-days, actually less, until I sign on my condo and move. I’m having buyer’s anxiety. BIG TIME. For this
traveling gal, you’d think I was putting the nix on all traveling. I know I’m not;
it really is a fear and commitment thing. Who knew the experiences of my
parents buying and moving so many times and not make good choices is at the
root of the fear. I know it’s NOT the same nor am I my parents, but well hell, it’s tough. The lap pool and I are doing well and the running trails – I’m finding
new ones and my hat class – well they are all seeing extra progress. As you can
see, I’m working through it and will be a homeowner March 1!

Speaking of, I’m off to the pool to get some laps in!

Leave a Reply

Categories

