Posted by: L | July 28, 2008

Knitting, Art House Musings and Big News

I have some big news! I’m just back from a very quick work trip to San Francisco where I attended a two day conference on social media. I arrived late, late Wed. night and left Saturday to be back Saturday night. Not much socializing with 8-5 days.

No, that’s not the news. But it was a serendipitous trip in that it helped me with a dilemma I’ve had for a month or so. I’ve taken the plunge (actually I took it several months ago) and signed up for the Level 1 Nihon Vogue Certification course with Jean Wong.

I’m a bit (a lot) nervous to take this course. I shouldn’t be, but I am. I love to design knitting but I’ve never been confident in my designing sensibilities. As many of you know, I had to give up that dream due to physical complications that have since been treated via spinal fusion surgery. Strange what our insecurities are aren’t they? But there you have it.

I know I have it in me. I also know I’m not one of those people (in this instance) that is able to dive in and go for it. I need a kick in the pants, the discipline and the structure of a learning process behind me to build this confidence. I’m not in a rush. I’m on a journey. Lord knows I found that out several years ago.

So…. where do SF and the course connect since all I really know is that I (we) have to complete 7 knitted pieces and 1 crotchet piece by the end of December 2009. Each piece requires a notebook that includes concept ideas, sketches, the new design process, and the finished piece!!! LOL. My dilemma? I would like a theme that ties all of these pieces together and stretches me to think out of the box. I’ve been struggling with what that theme should be since I arrived at this personal decision. After this weekend, no more angst. I have my theme, which is inspired by:

San Francisco Houses

It was that difficult and that easy. They have texture, movement, personalities, and color. All great qualities for knitting. I don’t know if I’ll create a collection or individual pieces or if I’ll think by neighborhoods, specific houses/gardens, season, and/or architecture. Most likely all of them. Lord knows I took enough photos of them while I lived there to get me started. Not to mention the trips I’ll be taking during the course.

I’ll be blogging progress, frustrations, failures and successes throughout the course. I hope you’ll join me in this journey.

That’s it. That’s my big news.

Air finishing. I should have it done this week!

PS: I’ve been tracking several really great blogs about the course this year. MoreYarnThanTime (ain’t that the truth), Purlwise, Gnomiejo Knits!. Impressive is all I can say.

PPS: In case any of you are wondering. I’m a process and production knitter. Not one or the other. I’m also a 50/50 introvert/extrovert in real life so all of this makes perfect sense to me.

PPPS: I’ve been blessed by many during my journey (you know who you are!) in helping me work to carve out a living (cough, cough) in an filedthat I love. (Still carving. Still blessed.) Thank you all.

Categories

