Posted by: L | August 15, 2008

Hot, hot, hot and homework

It’s 3:30 and hot. I woke up early this morning to get a jump on the day. 6:00 AM to be exact. A couple of more calls and then I’m callin’ it a day!

I finished some homework for our first Nihon Vogue class Sept. 6-7. I’ll be carpooling with two other students from Corvallis. Thankfully we’ll be leaving in the late morning on Friday the 5th to miss traffic on the I-5 and Seattle. I’m hoping to knit and finish T’s socks.

The homework? Two sets of swatches. Two for a pullover round neck vest and the other two for a top-down raglan pullover sweater. I finished my first set yesterday for the top down sweater. I’m not pleased with the yarn. It kept splitting. Never a good thing. I’ll be swatching several more in the weeks to come to see if I can find something a bit better for this project. I’ve never knit a sweater top down. Something tells me my EZ’s books are going to come in handy! I’m still debating on the vest.

Project: Nihon Vogue top down raglan pullover sweater

Source: Leslie Cumming

Materials: Louet Riverstone 100% wool in white

Amount: 1 skein (approximately 193 yds)

Gauge: 5 stitches per inch, 7 rows per inch 6×6 swatch, 2 selv stitches per side

Needles: Size US 7(4.5 mm) Knit Picks

Yarn to swatch this weekend are below. I hope it cools off a bit. This 90-100 degree weather and wool do not mix.

Categories

