Posted by: L | December 14, 2008

Winter wonderland

We’re having quite the snow storm for Portland, OR. The wind is whipping the snow off the roof and twisting the snow into mini-tornadoes as it makes its way to the ground. It’s absolutely wonderful! Below are photos from this morning (coffee time), my trip to the gym and then to The Yarn Garden to pay my respects to Linda Carter. Linda, the owner passed away suddenly, due to health complications, November 30, 2008. I took a moment in the lovely coffee shop, surrounded by her sheep collection quietly reading the new Spin Off magazine. 

img_0094

My (finger) and deck @ 8:00 a.m.

img_0096

Downtown Portland Streets about 10:00 a.m.

img_0097

Pine Tree on the Waterfront

img_0095

Snow in the Garden pots & Dream catcher @ 8:00 a.m. 

img_0098

Garden pots & Dream Catcher @ 3:30 p.m. (it’s still snowing)

I’m all cosy (with the fireplace going) and busy working on an article on a knitting friend (it is WAY past doing). I’m also finishing up some swatches for the V-Neck set in sleeves sweater foe class in January. The color I wanted in Calmer (Plum) is no where to be found. Not in PDX, WA, the internet or even on Colourway.co.uk. I need 12 balls. I did a swatch in the RYC and am finishing up a swatch in the Rowan wool/cotton. I think the last is going to work nicely. It will hold the drape I am envisioning and show the stitch pattern really well. More importantly,  both are in my stash!

The Top Down sweater is coming along. I’m 3/4 of the way done with the body and have picked up one side of the sleeve. 

Top Down

Be safe!

Categories

