Posted by: L | December 30, 2008

Wrapping up 2008

This is my last blog of 2008. It comes to you (from me) with the hope and heartfelt wish for a 2009 that is filled with hope, grace, joy, security and peace of mind.

This time of year (for me at least) is time spent reflecting on the year and the one ahead. It’s almost the last day of the year and I thought I would share some of the highlights with you. 

I’m truly in awe an amazed at the blessings and people in my life. It’s been quite the year. One of the most challenging in a long time. Thank you for sticking with me. 

January 1 – Feb 14 found me on the road quite a bit (why is that not knew news….) with February 15 seeing me headed into surgery for multiple fusions in my cervical spine: C5-6 & C6-7. A small glitch in counting resulted in an additional fusion at C7-T1 for a total of three fusions. I couldn’t have gotten through the recovery without T, my family and friends. I was pretty much home bound for 3-months. Your emails, calls and visits kept me going and meant the world to me. Thank you. My recovery has been slow. I’m on the mend and doing well. 

March was a celebration of a fellow Visionary attendees book. Janel Laidman’s, The Eclectic Sole. This is a wonderful book and I can’t wait for the next one. 

April and May found me back to knitting. An absolute blessing as I have not been able to really knit for over two years. A wonderful result from the surgery. I’ve been off an running with all of my craft loves since then. 

June was … interesting. I attended TNNA and connected with several people I had not seen in a long time. It was also cause for celebration of another Visionary. Margaret Fisher’s book Seven Things That Can Make or Break a Sweater. Three others are in the works (one is mine) and hopefully will come to fruition by end of 2009. Other than that it was a very tough month.  

July was a month of thinking about next steps work wise and family. My mom came to visit from Texas. We had a wonderful time. I was up an about a bit more so we moseyed over to the Coast and Sisters for their annual Quilt show.  

August found me walking with a group of Portland Knitters in PtoC. Our team WillWalkforWool had a fabulous time. The commitment (made in March) helped me stay focused on my health and recovery. The Team was great. They gave me 2 stages – the shortest and flattest routes. Thank you all for letting me be part of the team! I wore my collar the whole time and did well. I can’t wait for next year. We have so many ideas for the Van’s and will pick a charity to raise money for. 

September was a HUGE commitment to learning. I kicked off my course work for a Nihon Vogue: Level 1 Certificate. I’m 4-months into the course and loving every minute of it. I’ve met some great people and look forward to many Seattle weekends with this group in 2009. 

October I was able to spend some quality time with my two BFF’s in San Francisco- Sheryl and Sue. We (they) carved out a lunch for me. We had a great time catching up and spending time with a very charming and growing Olivia. Miss you guys. 

November was a WOW month. Period.  On the national front the US made history by electing its 1st black President. We, as a nation, made the right choice. I also took some time to attend a Yoga Retreat in Brietenbush, OR. It was an interesting several days that left me with quite a bit to think about. It also left me rejuvenated to succeed. On my terms, not others. I capped out the month by taking a short respite from looking for work and traveled to Williamstown, MA to spend a weekend with 98 fabulous knitters at Clara’s Knitters Retreat. This was my 2nd year and I loved it. I reconnected with three women that I met last year – Anya, Jo and Deb (I can’t find your email Deb, I’ve asked Jo…). We picked up like it was yesterday. I can’t wait to see them again next year. 

December was all about snow and making decisions for 2009. Some difficult, others not so much. I achieved one of my three 2008 resolutions. To have all my credit cards paid off. One down. Two to go. It’s also found me buckling down and planning for 2009 (more on that later). 

2009 I’ll continue to strive to view the world and those in my community with peace, grace, courage and compassion.

Pretty amazing. What about you? How was your 2008?

The very, very best to you in the coming year.

Categories

