Posted by: L | May 26, 2010

I don’t even know where to start…

I’m on an energy high after a small energy and illness crash. I’ll just jump in. Like that’s something new?

It’s still conference season. When I look at my calendar I have two or three weeks (depending on the conference) to go to. Yes, they’re back-to-back. Oh Joy. Not to mention life and other than work commitments. Life is a Zoo. A healthy happy one, but a Zoo.

Interspersed in this chaos has been some great learning moments that are relevant to knitting, sewing and needlework activities. I spent two days in Seattle (before I was sick) at a Catherine Lowe workshop. If you can’t tell, these last years I’ve been on a quest for a well designed and fit garment. Hopefully this quest also makes me a better tech editor and teacher. The juries out on that.

While at the workshop, we critiqued size, fit and length. I now have several lengths that I think work best on me.

Good length but needs work on shape and fit. To much fabric.

Our working ‘slopers’ on the wall. Notice the flat pattern pinned to the jersey garment? The garment was a Rowan pattern used to show how challenging the fit would be on the person. Not exact but enough to see issues.

These are my final working schematics from the class. It was more labor intensive than the Nihon Vogue schematics. However, they were immensely helpful in being able to adjust sizing for Year 2 around the neck, shoulder and armholes.

I’m on a roll with the last Year 1 projects. I completely went back to the drawing table with the two last sweaters. I have the swatches and will redraft the schematics for them this weekend.

Old swatch and schematic. New swatch.

Do you remember this project?

I have been working away on. I was half-way done when the canvas started ripping out from the collar. Not good. Solution?

A new start. I should say the seamstress fixed the old one. Unfortunately, the fix so distorted the collar line that it looked horrible. My local shop was fabulous and really fixed it with a new canvas. I’ve not yet cast on. I need to get it into a frame and then use my floor frame while I do the needlework. MAYBE Christmas. Don’t hold your breath.

If you don’t hear from me in the next couple of weeks… I’m on the road with work and a high-school graduation.

Other big news? I’ll be moving the blog in the next couple of months. I’ve really been thinking about this for a while. I love this blog, but feel that the new one will reflect all fiber loves, my course work in Nihon Vogue as well as my journey’s in life. More soon. I promise.

Categories

